Computer Exasperation 101

1 06 2009

I have a problem with computer software that does things it wants to, without me knowing about it. Take the “auto-update” function, for example. (Please. Take it far away.)

I had some computer issues last week, and I ended up uninstalling a bunch of stuff in order to zero in on the problem and fix it. I’ve gradually been installing programs, and everything was working fine…until yesterday. Out of nowhere, the computer got all sludgy, with pages freezing up and such. *sigh*

I gave up and went for a restart–and lo! a card comes up telling me that Adobe Reader is downloading something or other, and do you really want to interrupt me? Grrrr. The silly thing auto-updates.

So off I go to turn off Auto Update…except there’s no “off” switch in Adobe Reader. Lovely. Next step: Google. Fortunately, a kind soul who had the same problem explained in his blog how to tell Adobe Auto Update to go fly a kite. Problem solved!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

